Pardon me for everything I’m about to say


written for the Daily Prompt: Never surrender

Today is not about me.  I’m trying to give up gossiping so I’ve nobody to talk to about this.  And I don’t really want to because I really like the woman I’m about to tell you about.

There is a certain kind of stubborn.  The kind we don’t even realize we have.  It keeps us in denial.  Constantly finding good excuses for keeping on doing silly things.  We are too stubborn to learn the lesson.

I have a friend.  Recently I’ve gotten to know her well.  And I like her quite a lot.  She is an older woman, nearly 60, white, single, friendly.  She has this one issue though.  She only dates younger black guys.   Now this is not the problem.   The problem is they see her coming like a treasure laden freight train.   They use her financially because she has a good heart.  And she falls for it time and time again.  They move in with her, have no job.  One of the guys perennially lied about his camera getting stolen and each time she bought him a new and better one.  That guy eventually cheated on her with her best friend to whom he is to married now.  Needless to say he is milking her too (She is also an older white woman).

So lately there’s a new guy on the block.  This one again has managed to get an ‘investment’ out of her for a business he wants to start.  Somehow in a strange way she swings it in a story that the investment seems to be of benefit to her as well.  Then in the latest development, she has paid for his travel expenses to his home country to gift him the opportunity to see his dying mother.  Needless to say, it turns out his mother has had a miraculous recovery and won’t be dying anymore.  She says she couldn’t live with herself if he didn’t get to see his dying mother and she says she fully believes the mother recovered because she got to see her son.  Sigh.

Oh the lies we tell ourselves.  The truths we refuse to see.

17 thoughts on “Pardon me for everything I’m about to say

  1. Pingback: How Do I Get My Son To Go To School | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: Stubborn Dutch | Lisa's Kansa Muse

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Never Surrender | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Stubborn or steadfast? No Surrender | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  5. Pingback: I’LL BE BACK | SERENDIPITY

  6. Pingback: I Surrender | Views Splash!

  7. Pingback: The Stubborn Mule and the Easy-Going Duck | Fun with Depression

  8. Pingback: Steadfast #dpchallenge #haiku #photography | Moondustwriter's Blog

  9. Pingback: of scary monsters and nice fights | Anawnimiss

  10. Pingback: Beliefs or Ideas? Daily Prompt: Never Surrender | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  11. Pingback: Daily prompt: Steadfast | The Wandering Poet

  12. Pingback: The Camino Plan | Digging In…And Letting Go

  13. Pingback: NOTE TO SELF & DEMONIC WINDBAG IN MY HEAD | hastywords

  14. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Never Surrender | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  15. Pingback: Why You Should Never Surrender Your Convictions | The Political and Social Chaos Blog

  16. Pingback: Blog Tour Monday (What Am I Working On) starring TooFullToWrite (David Ellis) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

